European Heritage Policies

Browse by country

AndorraNorwaySwedenFinlandRussian FederationAzerbaijanArmeniaGeorgiaTurkeyCyprusUkraineMoldovaRomaniaBulgariaGreeceAlbaniaThe former Yugoslav Republic of MacedoniaMontenegroSerbiaBosnia and HerzegovinaCroatiaHungarySlovakiaPolandBelarusRussian FederationLithuaniaLatviaEstoniaCzech RepublicSloveniaAustriaSwitzerlandLiechtensteinSan MarinoSaint-SiegeMonacoItalyFranceLuxembourgBelgiumThe NetherlandsGermanyDenmarkSpainPortugalIcelandUnited KingdomIrelandMaltaHerein map


HEREIN is a European Cultural Heritage Information Network which brings European public administrations in charge of national cultural heritage policies and strategies together. At present, 44 Council of Europe Member States lend impetus to this project and form a unique co-operation network.

HEREIN provides: 

  1. A network made-up of 46 national coordinators appointed by relevant Ministries, which ensures the definition of themes and areas of work depending on the current challenges and issues to be addressed;

  2. A system or database, with input from the coordinators, which provides a regularly updated inventory of European heritage policies, a programme for sharing, exchanging and analysing information and a monitoring function for Conventions, legislation, policies and practices relating to cultural heritage and;

  3. A thesaurus with more than 500 cultural and natural heritage terms in 14 European languages.

HEREIN is part of the Council of Europe programme of activities 2016-2017.




Subscribe to HEREIN System RSS